Elevation Not Orientation

After some introspection, I have realized that the next part of my journey should be guided by elevation, and not by orientation.

According to my dictionary,  elevation means the action or fact of raising or being raised to a higher or more important level, state, or position. And this fits where I want to be.

Whereas, orientation means the action of orienting someone or something relative to the points of a compass or other specified positions.

So when I talk about turning left or right next, or of proceeding forwards or reversing backward due to obstacles, these observations are not really that important.

The best direction for me is to take note of the lie of the land and to head downwards and inwards to the heart of the matter. I will need to travel across the liminal regions of my mind and into enchanted dream worlds.

Exploring the Depths

This is why the term “depth psychology” has been adopted by those exploring the relationship between the conscious and the unconscious mind.

According to Wikipedia,

“Depth Psychology refers to approaches to therapy that are open to the exploration of the subtle, unconscious, and transpersonal aspects of human experience. A depth approach may include therapeutic traditions that explore the unconscious and involves the study and exploration of dreams, complexes, and archetypes”

I am not a psychologist, but I feel some of the practices of psychology may be appropriate for where I am heading. I certainly don’t exclude psychology, but I don’t want to be bound by it in any way.

That’s about it. I am taking the weekend off. Have a great time all.

One thought on “Elevation Not Orientation

Leave a Reply

