Know Thyself

M1. This aphorism “know thyself” seems to have been around almost forever, and has been used by many writers from antiquity to the present day.

To some, it means to keep to yourself to yourself, to others it means to know your place and not rise above it and to me it means to understand who you are, especially as illustrated by your dreams.

Know Thyself Through Dreams

I discussed in my last post about getting to know your dream players. This idea was taken to an even greater extreme by Socrates the Greek philosopher who said,

“I am not yet able, as the Delphic inscription has it, to know myself;

so it seems to me ridiculous when I do not yet know that,

to investigate irrelevant things.”

This was also taken up by CG Jung when he said,

“…it struck me what it means to live with the myth, and what it means to live without one.

So in the most natural way, I took it upon myself to get to know my myth,

and this I regarded as my task of tasks.”

Perhaps I need to say that myths and dreams both have the same source and I think Jung is saying he needs to understand that source through both dreams and through the archetypal stories (myths) passed down from generation to generation in our society.

Both Socrates and Jung are saying that until you know yourself then everything else is but a distraction.

So again I say, that getting to know the players in your dreams is a hugely valuable experience and not one to be delayed.

 

Leave a Reply

